musings, Text Post

WWW Wednesday – 29th January

In the spirit of returning to blogging regularly, I thought I’d rejoin a weekly meme that I loved last year.

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, (and formerly hosted by MizB at A Daily Rhythm ) which simply involves answering the Three Ws:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

So first up, my current read is: Grief Works, by Julia Samuel.

This book is a series of recollections/case studies from Julia’s work as a bereavement counsellor. It’s an incredibly moving read, so I’m taking it slowly, a chapter at a time, but I’m finding that the writing style and tone really suits both the sensitive material and my own reading.

I recently finished reading: Girl, Woman, Other, by Bernardine Evaristo.

This is an outstanding novel. Through the voices of 12 characters, most of whom are black, British women, readers are invited on a multitude of journeys through life, to share in hopes, challenges, loves, losses, and triumphs. The lyrical style and compelling characterisation made this a joy to return to each time I picked it up.

I think my next read will be: Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier OR The Water Cure, by Sophie Mackintosh.

Though I was reading Lincoln in the Bardo, by George Saunders, I found I wasn’t in the right mood to read such an experimental work, and as the above two books are for upcoming book clubs, I thought I should focus on those. Rebecca (an all-time favourite novel of mine) is a re-read, and The Water Cure has been on my radar for a while so I’m excited to begin that. We’ll just have to see if The Water Cure is available from the library before I finish Grief Works.

What are you all reading this week?

Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog and read today’s post.

AM x

Leave a comment