musings, TBR, Text Post

A Visit to the Library

Today, I thought I’d share my recent library haul with you. As I’ve read 3 books from my TBR this month, I thought I’d treat myself by searching the library for something new, as well as pick up books I’m reading for book clubs.

First up, we have my all-time favourite book: Rebecca, by Daphne du Maurier. When I read those opening words of the novel, I was instantly gripped, excited by the dark, atmospheric world I was being invited into. It’s a book I’ve re-read a few times, and now I’m reading it for an online book club I’m part of: a book club dedicated to du Maurier’s work! I can’t wait to become immersed in this story again, and to discuss it with my fellow du Maurier fans!

The second book is Grief Works, by Julia Samuel. While browsing the shelves, I realised I really wanted a non-fiction read, and as I’ve been trying to manage grief in my own life recently, this one stood out to me. I know it’s likely to be a difficult read, so I’m going to take this a chapter at a time where possible, and read fiction in between to ensure I have a break. I’ll also be sure to put it down if it does ever get too much. I’m hoping, though, that it will be an enlightening read, to hear these stories of people coping with loss. I’ll see how I get on.

The last thing I did was check if The Water Cure by Sophie Mackintosh, was available. This is the next read for my work’s book club: I’ve seen this discussed a lot online, so I’m glad of a chance to finally read it. It was only available at another library, so the lovely librarian offered to have it transferred over so I could pick it up during next week.

As always, I’m in awe of what a great resource libraries are, for books as well as local services, events and groups. It’s such a shame that so many have had to close. I know how fortunate I am that I now live relatively close to 3 libraries, so I try to use each of them as much as possible (while also trying to read books I already own).

Now, time to decide what to read next!

Do you have local library to visit?

Thanks for reading.

AM x

Leave a comment