musings

WWW Wednesday – 27th September

Hi guys! I’m participating in WWW Wednesday again – it’s been a while since I did one of these posts, so thought it would be a good way to take stock of my reading as I try to finalise a review, and find more books through other bloggers’ posts.

So, WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking On a World of Words.

All you have to do is post your answers to 3 questions:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you will read next?

Check out Taking On a World of Words blog and leave your answers in the post comments, as well as linking to your own blog post. Feel free to leave a comment here too!

Here’s my WWW Wednesday for this week:

What are you currently reading? – The Cows, by Dawn O’Porter

This looks epic – both because of the sheer size of the book, and because the blurb is intriguing.

20170927_004756

Tara, Cam and Stella are strangers living their own lives as best they can – though when society’s screaming you should live your life one way, it can be hard to like what you see in the mirror.

So when a shocking event ties invisible bonds of friendship between them, one woman’s catastrophe becomes another’s inspiration, and a life lesson to all.

Sometimes it’s OK not to follow the herd.

Oh, and the cover is incredibly striking. I love it!

What did you recently finish reading? – Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson

20170922_222901

This memoir is absolutely stunning. I’m currently finishing my full review of it to be posted in the next couple of days, but for now, I’ll just say that Winterson’s prose is such a delight. There were so many passages that took my breath away because of the sheer brilliance of their composition. Then there’s her story – moving is an understatement. The sheer strength Winterson has displayed in surviving the traumas in her life, and then sharing them in her writing, is incredible. I can’t recommend this book enough (don’t forget to look out for my full review later this week!)

What do you think you will read next? – Undecided.

20170922_214748.jpg

OK, I cheated out of that one. But attending the JobHack Event run by Penguin Random House meant I had another book haul. One of those books was Why Be Happy so after The Cows, I just need to decide between The Growing Season and Hit Makers. The latter in particular sounds really good. It’s an exploration of how things become popular in certain places at certain moments. I’m such a geek about trivia like that.

Thanks so much for reading today’s post. Please feel free to comment with your answers, or even just to say Hi!

Leave a Reply

