Text Post

Dilemma: New Reads or Old Favourites?

Does anyone else ever have an excruciating experience choosing whether to pick up a new, shiny, unspoiled book or a much-loved, repeatedly-read favourite?

I’m currently in the midst of such a dilemma. I finished ‘A God In Ruins’ 10 days ago, and though I’ve been at work a lot, I’ve still spent too long internally debating this choice.

You see, I have a pile of books that I’ve bought in the last six months but haven’t had time to read due to uni commitments. That’s not even the full pile in the picture above. I’m desperate to read them, because there’s nothing quite like diving into the unknown, experiencing new worlds and characters, getting to grips with the author’s style (if you’ve not read any of their work before). The one that is really grabbing my attention is The Essex Serpent, mainly because of the amazing reviews it’s had, but also because the cover is stunning and it keeps catching my eye.
However, I’m also aching to return to Hogwarts. I haven’t read the Harry Potter series for years, but as my friends and I are going to watch Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (beyond excited!) in March, part of me thinks I should be reading them, like a sort of ‘preparation’ for entering that world in a new story. And also because the Harry Potter series is every kind of wonderful anyway. I may leave a discussion regarding why I think this for another post because I have a long list of reasons. 
Ok, I know that technically I could read them at the same time but I like to give proper time and concentration to books, especially new reads, because I think I can appreciate them more when they’re the only object of my attention. (Although maybe my brain just isn’t up to dealing with multiple reading goals at the moment – it’s been a long few months!)

Basically, I’m torn over something that doesn’t seem like it’s a huge decision, but I’m worrying about it anyway. I don’t want to buy any more books until I’ve worked through the current ‘to be read pile’ but my ‘to buy’ pile is ever-growing.

Has anyone else ever had this dilemma? 

Do you prefer new books or much-read ‘favourites’?

Hope everyone is having a good week!

Leave a Reply

